What can you do to convert your OHSAS 18001 certification to ISO 45001?

Just like OHSAS 18001, ISO 45001 contains requirements for the OHS management system in an organization. Unlike OHSAS 18001, ISO 45001 is a standardized international standard. But there are more differences:

  • The term ‘worker’ is introduced;
  • There is more attention for leadership and for culture with regard to health and safety management;
  • There is more attention for 'persons working under the control of the organization';
  • There is more attention for commitment in relation to the ‘hierarchy of control’;
  • The 'training needs' principle has been replaced by the 'competences' principle.

New in ISO 45001: High Level Structure (HLS)

High Level Structure (HLS) is used in the new ISO standards for management systems. The HLS is a 'outline structure' that is the same for all standards. ISO 45001 also uses HLS. High Level Structure records the following:

  • Context analysis;
  • Determining the requirements of interested parties;
  • Influence of internal and external changes on the organization;
  • Integration with other business processes;
  • Risks and opportunities;
  • Control of outsourced processes;
  • Documented information.

Transition to ISO 45001

Is your organization already certified according to OHSAS 18001 and would you like to know which steps to take to make the transition to ISO 45001? We are happy to help you with this. Please contact Piet Poortman, Lead Auditor at Kiwa via the contact form on this page.