Quality Management principles

ISO 9001 is based on seven quality management principles (QMPs), including a strong customer focus, the motivation and implication of top management, the process approach and continuous improvement.

QMP 1 – Customer focus
QMP 2 – Leadership
QMP 3 – Engagement of people
QMP 4 – Process approach
QMP 5 – Improvement
QMP 6 – Evidence-based decision making
QMP 7 – Relationship management

These principles are explained in more detail in the Quality Management Principles document from ISO.